FMP Interview research

What makes my subjects interesting and what is going to make the film interesting for the audience?

I first met Lee at an event in Lancaster and started chatting to him about what he does. From their we got in touch via email. I spoke to him about the project and he suggested meeting up to have a proper face to face chat about my FMP. He said at that point that he didn’t imagine that he would have been able to help out much because he was on a really busy schedule. But he said that he would answer some questions on the computer if I sent some over. When we spoke during the meeting, he said that he pass on the details about the FMP to his friend and collaborator Richard. Lee later said that if he had perhaps an hour or so then he may be able to answer those questions in an interview format. I then met up with Richard to discuss the film project and he said that he would be interested in the project and would be happy to help. From their we spoke over email and worked out a date for the filming. I also spoke to Lee via email and worked out a date for filming also. In between the filming dates for Lee and Richard, I spoke to one of the College students; Jordan about the project and also said that he would be interested in the the project. I spoke to him one or two times in College but we agreed on a date fairly quickly. The filming dates for both Lee and Richard were on the same day with only a short gap between them. The filming date for Jordan was the next day.

Lee spoke about what kind of sound/music work he does and it was very varied and interesting. Lee said that he had worked on a project where he and Richard (who I hadn’t heard of at that point) had composed music for several live screenings of the 1927 silent film ‘Metropolis’, which was very interesting to hear about, even though it was quite a brief conversation about it at first. He also said that he does loads of varying work with sound and music, such as playing many different instruments, composing and writing music for moving image, sound recording, sound design, etc.

Richard spoke about the ‘Metropolis’ project as well, but I think that he wanted to hear as much about me and the project as possible. But I listened to a lot of Richards song’s and collaborated songs on SoundCloud which I thought were really good. So I thought that it would be interesting to get an insight into how he produced and composed these tracks.

Jordan like, Richard was very keen to hear about the project, but I thought separated himself from many other music students was that he was writing and composing music specifically for film.

I think from a viewers perspective, it meant that the project was very different to a typical music programme that you may see on TV, because the project was focused on music production, but at the same time it also heavily looked at sound and music for moving image as well as sound production such as sound design.

I think that the questions were possibly the most important part of the pre-production process because I had to ask very specific questions to get very specific answers from the subjects.

 

Leave a Reply

