Original Treatment/Research

https://archiebean14.wordpress.com/wp-admin/post.php?post=1019&action=edit&message=10 – FMP Music

https://archiebean14.wordpress.com/wp-admin/post.php?post=749&action=edit&message=10 – FMP Research

http://www.thestorey.co.uk/page/116/In-Tune.htm

Note: In this treatment I have stated that I will be interacting with someone who works with sound and someone who can explain the scientific reasons behind the evoking of emotions by sound as well as conducting a social experiment of my own. However I am currently contemplating wether to drop the experiment and potentially the scientist/psychologist from the film completely and have it solely focus on someone who works with sound. I have highlighted the areas where I mention the psychologist and experiment as I may change those areas.

Note: I am still working on the introductory section as this may not have imagery at all, so I have also highlighted sections where I talk about that, as that may change also.

  • Story – The story of my FMP is not about an individual, but about something that is present in everyone’s lives every week, every day, every hour, every minute, every second…sound. This documentary will be looking at and studying sound from multiple perspectives. It will be studying it from the perspective of different viewpoints; someone who works with sound on a day to day basis and has a keen passion working with it, and someone who is an expert in the area of psychology and is able to explain the science behind the connection between sound and emotionI myself will be conducting some form of psychological experiment. This is because I want to be able to test out certain theories and hypothesis on people and see the outcomes. I can then compare the outcomes of the experiment to the viewpoint that the psychologist spoke of and see if the connections they spoke about were present in my findings. So the documentary will take several different filming styles and use them in different areas of the film. For instance I will film the section about the person who works with sound in a kind of shadowing way. I will follow them around and not interact with their work so that they can work as normal. Then I will film the interview with him/her perhaps on a different day and use a traditional interview setup for that. Whereas for the section with the psychologist I will not be filming it in the same way as I did for the previous section. The section for the man/woman who works with sound will be more like this – https://vimeo.com/81750995 and this https://vimeo.com/78213028
  • Why I chose this topic – The reason why I chose to base my documentary all around sound was because for an FMP you should be working on something that you have a keen interest in, otherwise you may lose interest in your project and start to feel like it is dragging on. So I had to think hard about what exactly it is that I could bass my documentary around. But in the end I decided that sound was the most realistic and best option because I don’t really have many passionate interests that aren’t towards things things like certain films, shows, games, etc. For me sound is something that I have extreme fun working on, listening to,  and analysing. It is present everywhere, you cannot escape it whatever it is that you are doing. Making a documentary around it would offer me a fun experience and also the chance to learn in depth knowledge about it that I would perhaps otherwise struggle to understand. In the end, I think that I was always going to base the documentary on sound, because I have too bigger interest in the subject area, but also going back to a conversation I had with Matthew from last year’s course, he said that ‘you should make the documentary on something you really love’ and I had definitely established that it was sound that I was going to work on, but from another point of view I knew that I didn’t want to work on something that I didn’t love. I don’t really like operating camera’s and working in teams to do so. This documentary gives me the chance to work on something independently but also if I made the documentary about sound then it would be more useful to me because If I made the documentary about most other subjects then I would be gaining experience in the filming/DP sector. Whereas I don’t really want to gain so much knowledge from something that I don’t have an interest in. And so by making the documentary about sound it means that the documentary is more relative to me, because I am working on something that is aligned with my interests and goals.
  • key themes – Since their is no key argument in this documentary such as politics and one political viewpoint versus another, it is important that I establish different viewpoints on sound. The viewpoint of it from a more natural and emotional perspective that I will get from the man/woman that works with sound, and a more scientific viewpoint in that their are reasons why the connection that one has with sound and music is down to a reason and that it isn’t about the individuals themselves.
  • Style – The documentary will borrow styles from several different documentary genre’s. It will borrow features from the performative genre; This is because although I said I was trying to balance viewpoints by having someone who works with sound and someone who can explain the science of it, ultimately I have the editing power and I want to make the audience really think about sound. Also it is more likely that I will spend more time with the person that works with sound as I only really need an interview with the psychologist. So the documentary may be partially subjective. This is also because I want the audience to feel a similar way to the filmmaker myself and watch it with an emotional perspective. It will also borrow features from the poetic genre; I will try to make it so that their is a strong connection between spoken word, sound and imagery when it comes to the section that is based on the person that works with sound. It will also borrow features from the expository genre; this is because I am seeking to expose something that people perhaps are not that aware of. Many people will take sound for granted. I am not saying that as a fact and cannot back it up with evidence and so I am saying it as a viewpoint. So the documentary will seek to expose something that people do not pay much attention to. It will also be expository-esque because it will be studying something with a specific viewpoint towards it and it will also be as factual as I can make it. The fact section will be what is heard from the interview with the psychologist. Interviews are another feature often seen in expository documentaries. I am currently unsure whether or not their will be more than two voiceovers used during the video; the psychologist and the person who works with sound.
  • Target audience – I don’t really have a specific target audience for this documentary as sound is something that relates to everyone. I won’t really have many people watching it from the typical cinematography perspective as I have already spoken about how that isn’t what my aim is. However some people may find it interesting to see how a documentary about sound is filmed. In many poetic documentaries, the image cannot be understated in how it manages to help bring out the emotional response of the audience towards the video and it’s overarching message(s) –
    I think that it will appeal to a lot of people because they will be curious to hear what the scientific explanations for the connection between sound and emotion are. I think that it will also have a lot of appeal to filmmakers in general because the rest of the documentaries on show will be more about an individual or events. I think people will be interested in it because it is the study of something that is common in everyone’s everyday lives and something that is probably understated in them as well. Overall I think that the documentary will have a wide appeal, but a lot of the viewers will be filmmakers themselves. The hard part is figuring out how the documentary starts, because I think that people will be more interested in the psychology aspect as oppose to the person who works with sound. So if I can nail down the introductory section then I will be more likely to get more viewers, than if it didn’t clearly show that it had a psychological perspective. I may use a time-lapse for the beginning section and have a voiceover of someone talking about sound, then use lots of generic shots as well.
  • Sound design – In terms of sound design, I may feature one section of the video without any video clips or or imagery. This could potentially be the video’s introduction. This will be a really good chance to make my point and draw viewers in. The section where music will have the most significance will probably be the section with the person that works with sound. This is because music will be really important in helping to make that section of the documentary feel poetic. The music needs to combine with the imagery and dialogue. In terms of music, it will most likely be instrumental music and will probably have a synth kind of feel to it. Their won’t really be too much that I will be wanting to add additional sound effects for. If the person who works with sounds is out recording then I will try and record the sound as close to whatever it is that they are doing without interfering. So instead of adding sound effects for what they were recording, I will just keep the original sound. I may have a section that is not involved with the psychology of sound or the person who works with it, but a section where you can just appreciate it and hear it interact with imagery or perhaps without imagery.
  • Distribution – I haven’t yet thought about distribution
  • Inspiration (detailed reference to two similar documentary films that you have researched and discuss them critically) – I think that both of these films are a good example of what it is like to follow a sound designer.
  • https://vimeo.com/81750995
  • https://vimeo.com/78213028
  • Introductory section – I spoke earlier about the introductory section of the video and said ‘So if I can nail down the introductory section then I will be more likely to get more viewers, than if it didn’t clearly show that it had a psychological perspective. I may use a time-lapse for the beginning section and have a voiceover of someone talking about sound, then use lots of generic shots as well’ I have created a video showcasing how I want the introductory section of the video to look.  Ideally I want to be able to find a piece of music that is both thought provoking in that it gets the audience to think about sound but is not over powerful and feels out of place. Because I think that it would be great if I could get the audience to actually think about sound while watching the video – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sjtrNdwi2Ao
Leave a Reply

